Government of Trinidad and

Industrial Relations Advisory Committee- 2023


The Industrial Relations Advisory Committee (IRAC) was established for the purpose of reviewing the Industrial Relations Act and making recommendations and advice to the Minister of Labour and Small Enterprise Development on any matter relating to industrial relations. 

The Committee is tasked with the responsibility of ensuring that all policy areas that fall under its remit are given the required attention.

Some of these areas include:

  • Basic terms and conditions of work/employee rights legislation;
  • The establishment and administration of an Unemployment Insurance Scheme or Severance Benefits Fund or both;
  • The definition of “trade dispute” under the IRA;
  • The application/implementation of Freedom of Association by the IRA; and
  • Consideration of a more effective and simple alternative to the current recognition and registration process.

The newly appointed Industrial Relations Advisory Committee received their Instruments of Appointment from the Honourable Stephen Mc Clashie M.P., Minister of Labour at the Ministry of Labour’s Head Office, Tower C, International Waterfront Centre, Port of Spain. 

This Committee is expected to serve from 2023-2025.

IRAC board 2023 1

The Honourable Stephen Mc Clashie, Minister of Labour (centre), flanked by Ms. Natalie Willis (Permanent Secretary) to his left, Dr. Hyacinth Guy (Chairperson of IRAC) to his right and is joined by other members of the Industrial Relations Advisory Committee.  From L-R: Servaus Samuel (Technical Secretary), Coreen Copland-Campbell, Mr. Clifton Sampson, Mr. Keston Nancoo, Mr. Emerson Martin, Ms. Diane Joseph, Mr. Elon Mayo, Ms. Sabina Gomez, Ms. Lynetth Bhairosingh and Ms. Sanika Tyson.

Missing: Mr. Clyde Elder, Dr. Paul Balwant, Ms. Carol David-Kendell