Government of Trinidad and

Co-operative Credit Union League


The Co-operative Credit Union League of Trinidad and Tobago was established in April 1947. It is the National Umbrella Body for local credit unions and provides a wide range of services to its affiliates. A twelve-member Board of Directors provides policy direction to the League. There are two types of Credit Unions in the Movement. They are:

  • Community-based/Regional Credit Unions and;
  • Industry-based/Occupational Credit Unions

They management the Movement’s assets of TT$14 Billion Dollars and has a total membership of 600,000. Their core functions include Advocacy, Lobbying, Training and Development.

The League’s Passion Statement:

The League is passionate about reinforcing the co-operative principles, preserving and expanding the co-operative credit union movement which allows its members to be in charge of their socio-economic destiny through leadership, education, training and development.

The League’s Vision Statement

To be the National Umbrella Body for all Credit Unions and provide leadership in support of the co-operative principles through the provision of key services.

The Cooperative Credit Union League of Trinidad and Tobago is affiliated to the Caribbean Confederation of Credit Unions (CCCU) and the World Council of Credit Unions (WOCCU). The League was instrumental in the establishment of the Trinidad and Tobago Credit Union Deposit Insurance Fund (formerly Trinidad and Tobago Deposit Insurance Company Ltd. )and the Central Finance Facility (CFF) and works closely with CUNA Caribbean Insurance Society Ltd. Credit Unions are a self-regulating body managed by their Boards of Directors, Credit, Supervisory and Education Committees and management teams.


To contact the Co-operative Credit Union League of Trinidad and Tobago, please click here